Morkovice - Chateau
Between Kroměříž and Vyškov is the town of Morkovice-Slížany and in the centre of historic Morkovice is the castle, whose symbiosis with the square indicates the medieval origin of the manor. The fortress may have stood here as early as 1222, it is safely documented in 1355. It was linked to the church and its remains have been preserved in the mass of the eastern and northern wings of the present chateau to this day. Jiřík Protivec of Zástřizl, who rebuilt the old Gothic fortress in a more comfortable Renaissance style at the end of the 16th century, stands out among the successive owners. The early Baroque adaptation of the chateau and garden dates back to the period after 1647. Other owners worth mentioning include Antonín Braid (late Baroque and Rococo alterations to the chateau) and, especially from 1911, Filip Kinský, during whose tenure significant changes were made to the appearance of the chateau (demolition of the west wing, removal of the clock tower and filling in of the moat). After the Second World War the castle became the property of the state, the local national committee operated a school, museum and health centre. After 1989, the castle fell into disrepair and is now owned by Chapel Invest, which has restored it to its present form.
Morkovice - Chateau
- Adress: 17. listopadu 119, 768 33 Morkovice-Slížany - Morkovice, Česko
- GSM:
- Phone:
- E-mail:
- Website:
